Gosha Gibek "Summer Commotion" v3

Feeling exalted


I picked up my brushes again and got my hands messy with the oil paint, indulged in smell of turpentine. I feel exalted.

There is something sublime about using oil paints; noble and exquisite – the medium used by the greatest masters.

I feel restless: I wanna paint until the picture is finished, battling with wet paint for brilliance of colours. There needs to be sunshine! The dazzling light of a summer and the commotion it evokes between the blades of grass and melts the roughness of dry stone. There needs to be buzzing abundance of greens, aching eyes contrast of ultramarine in the shadow. Now, the sky needs some body, be heavy with yellowish blue, and a light yellow haze will spread over the fields, which I will add when the paint dries. The Hill like the Red Rock: eerie and pink…

I WANNA PAINT UNTIL I CAN STAND UP!

This painting in progress is going to have a title: ‘Summer Commotion”

Gosha Gibek "Summer Commotion" v1
“Summer Commotion” One of the first versions. Oil on canvas, 110cm/86cm – in progress
Gosha Gibek Gosha Gibek "Summer Commotion" v2
“Summer Commotion” The work as it develops. Oil on canvas, 110cm/86cm – in progress
Gosha Gibek "Summer Commotion" v3
“Summer Commotion” The latest result. Oil on canvas, 110cm/86cm – in progress

Leave a Reply

